Bikesports: The 2010s

The 750 Motor Club Bikesports Championship ended the decade on a high with large grids consistently throughout the season – with classes for tuned and production Motorcycle engines, bolted to a Sports Racing chassis.

There has been a number of changes to the class categorisation over the years but Radical Sportscars have always been a feature of the series – however other makes have been successful including Spire who picked up a couple of overall titles, while Global, Mission and Mittell have took class championship victories. 

The series allows for not just large manufactured cars, like Radical, but home-built cars too, in the true ethos of the 750 Motor Club, which celebrated 80 years in 2019 and has been a hotbed for car designers and its roll of honour includes Arthur Mallock, Eric Broadley, Colin Chapman, Gordon Murray as well as Adrian Reynard. 

Car designer extraordinaire Reynard raced in Bikesports throughout the decade – first with his unique Reynard Inverter before switching to an adapted Radical SR3, which he took to the 2014 overall title after beating all the class A competition.

The Stables family bookended success in the championship during the decade, where Richard Stables took both the 2010 and 2011 overall titles with his class A Radical PR6. His son Joe began in the category four years later and took both the 2018 and 2019 overall titles with a class B Radical SR3 and took a number of overall victories in ’18.

Richard Stables: Photo Credit SJN Photography

James Breakell, who has been heavily behind the category won the 2012 championship in another PR6, breaking Stables’ run of championships. The latter still finished second though.

James Breakell: Photo Credit Josh Barrett

Multiple former 750 Motor Club champion – in both RGB and Locost before that – Tim Gray took the 2013 title and replicated it two years later. He was the only non-Radical driver during the period to win the championship and did so in a Spire GT3. He also won the class B championship in 2014, when Reynard took the overall title. Gray smashed lap records during his time too and won Autosport’s Club Driver of Year. A standout race for Gray came in 2012 at Anglesey when he beat the experienced Nigel Greensall aboard a Speads by just 0.03 seconds. 

Tim Gray: Photo Credit Josh Barrett

Phil Knibb took the 2016 title with a Radical SR3, after just a limited campaign the year before. Stefano Leaney won his only season in the category in 2017 with a PR6, before moving to Formula Three machinery since.

Class champions not mentioned during the decade were Peter Brown, Joe Jackson, Chrisitan Enderby, Alan Wilshire, Callum MacKillop, Oliver Cox, James Wingfield, Lewis Plato, Jon-Paul Ivey, Richard Wise, Julian Griffiths, Peter Lague, Will Brown, Max Lees, Robert Gardiner, Doug Carter, Richard Webb, Lee Torrie, Josh Smith and Scott Mittell.

Special mentions go to Plato, who used his class A title in 2013 to move on to Porsche Carrera Cup and British GT. The series also saw Rob Wheldon take a couple of victories a year earlier, and he will make his European Le Mans debut in 2020 after taking a victory in the Le Mans Cup in 2019. Sir Chris Hoy raced at Donington Park in 2014 ahead of a British GT campaign. The Olympic Cyclist gold medallist went on to race at Le Mans.

Partially thanks to racing in every season bar 2016, double champion Richard Stables scored the most points during the decade ahead of Reynard and Breakell. 2017 class A champion Doug Carter came fourth in this table (more details below) – thanks to being a constant in the category since 2011. Class champions Wise, Cox and Preen all scored well in the top ten too – Cox was particularly impressive in the early part of the decade using the much older Radical SR4. Phil Cooper completed the top ten decade scorers – despite not picking up a class title. He scored well in 2015 and 2016, with many podiums but didn’t complete a full season due to concentrating his British Autograss campaign. 

CTR Arachnid leads an Elite Pulse a more unusual design

The table below showing the accumulating scores takes in to account the overall point tables, this usually came from class points but in 2015 and 2016, the overall championship was scored from overall finishing positions.

Words by: Josh Barrett

Accumulated points (2010-19)

  • 1st Richard Stables (855)
  • 2nd Adrian Reynard (724)
  • 3rd James Breakell (669)
  • 4th Doug Carter (569)
  • 5th Tim Gray (555)
  • 6th Joe Stables (535)
  • 7th Richard Wise (525)
  • 8th Oliver Cox (450)
  • 9th Chris Preen (421)
  • 10th Phil Cooper (413)
  • 11th Richard Hardie (405)
  • 12th Will Brown (389)
  • 13th Julian Griffiths (385)
  • 14th Jon-Paul Ivey (370)
  • 15th Phil Knibb (301)
  • 16th Tim Porter (292)
  • 17th Gary Paterson (290)
  • 18th Mike Davis (249)
  • 19th Ian Charles (231)
  • 20th Gary Baxter (208)
  • 21st Mark Boot (204)
  • 22nd Mark Grason (204)
  • 23rd Joe Lock (200)
  • 24th Ashley Hicklin (180)
  • 25th Aaron Bailey (165)
  • 26th Mike Field (165)
  • 27th Josh Smith (163)
  • 28th Darcy Smith (148)
  • 29th Christian Enderby (148)
  • 30th Stefano Leaney (136)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *