750 Motor Club Season Review Part One:

The 750 Motor Club season got underway four months after their pre season test day. The pandemic and national lockdown delaying the season until July. 

Clio 182

A ten round season across five different events set the scene for the Clio 182 championship. The season boasted big grids with several newcomers arriving to take on the hotly contested series. 

Three drivers won across the season with the title quickly becoming a two horse race between reigning champion Ryan Polley and Scott Edgar. Polley won six races in total to Edgar’s one, with Josh Larkin enjoying an end of season charge with three. It was Edgar’s consistency shadowing Polley in the first half that kept him in the title hunt. Polley enjoyed success at Snetterton and Mallory Park taking both victories, a win a piece at a slippery Brands Hatch with Edgar taking the other victory and Oulton Park which saw Polley’s only retirement. This ensured the title fight was in his favour heading to the final Donington Park rounds, where were again delayed by the pandemic. Polley started well at Donington but ultimately deciding to not fight too hard to finish fourth in the first race, enough to see him retain his title after a season long battle with Edgar. Simon Freeman, Don De Graaf, Nick Garner, Oliver Waind, Andrew Harding and Simon Gruber all visited the podium during the 2020 season, Gruber’s coming at the final round in his debut event. 

Clio 3
Ryan Polley, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Formula Vee

There is just one driver that comes to mind during the 2020 season, James Harridge. Harridge in his home-built Maverick had shown glimpses of his pace the past few seasons, ultimately bad luck usually playing its part ending his championship challenges. That changed in 2020, Harridge showed his potential and dominated winning seven of the eight rounds in all weathers to take the title. Daniel Hands the only other victor with a race one win at Oulton Park. Ian Buxton fought Hands for the podium places on several occasions, notably at Snetterton in September but a smoky car would force Buxton to pit, his consistency ensured he finished third overall. Jamie Harrison visited the podium in his sole outing of 2020 at Brands Hatch finishing third in a wet race one. Peter Studer, Peter Belsey and Colin Gregory LAO enjoyed podium visits during the season with former champion Martin Farmer securing a double podium finish in his only outing at Oulton Park. 

Fvee 27
James Harridge, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Type R Trophy

The series which gains championship status from 2021 continued to grow in a compacted season. The man to beat was once again Dan Thackarey, who showed strong pace in the inaugural series in 2019. Thackarey won all the races he competed in, missing the last round held in mid-December at Donington. Former Stock Hatch and Clio 182 racer Matt Digby joined in for selected rounds ahead of next year and rounded the year off with a win in the final event. The series featured several drivers racing at selected rounds only, with Simon Walker-Hansell featuring on the podium in his sole outing at Snetterton. Tate Tavener enjoyed several visits to the podium in the eight races completed in a condensed calendar, which also meant they joined the Hot Hatch grid for the season finale.

TypeR 54
Dan Thackerey, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Ma7da Series

The new Ma7da series which like the Type R Trophy will gain championship status in 2021, boasted bigger grids and familiar names from the Locost championship. The season opener at Snetterton featured guest drives from Scott Mansell and Sam Mckee. Mansell would be classed as the race one winner ahead of Jonathan Lisseter, only for Mansell and several other drivers to be disqualified for underweight cars. Lisseter won the following Snetterton race and featured on the podium throughout the 2020 season. Matt Cherrington returned to racing and completed the double at Silverstone, the grid being mixed with the Sports Specials, this also happened at the second Snetterton meeting. Tom Coller former Locost racer returned to win both races there ahead of Ben Powney. Powney visited the podium throughout the season after mechanical gremlins affected the season opener including wins in the final at Mallory Park to end the season on a high. As the drivers look ahead to 2021 the number of drivers is set to increase, with more drivers converting their Locost racers to Ma7da’s.  

Ma7da 43
Jonathan Lisseter, Photo Credit: SJN Photography