750 Motor Club Season Review; Part Two

In the second instalment of the season review, we look back on four more categories from home built cars to single seaters

750 Formula

The 750 Formula Championship saw a shorter season with just six rounds at three circuits. 2019 champion Mark Glover endured a winless season, with his best finish coming at Silverstone finishing in second place, a further three third place finishes meant it was enough for him to finish second in the championship. Peter Bove proved the man to beat, winning all the races at Mallory Park and Silverstone. This put Bove in a comfortable position to win the title, which he did so with a second-place finish at Snetterton’s opener. Dave Hodkin raced his HRD MK2 commandingly to win the last two races at Snetterton after finishing on the podium twice in the opening weekend at Mallory. Hodkin will be a title contender for 2021 looking to knock Bove off the top spot. 

750F 13
Peter Bove, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Sports 1000

The season quickly became a battle between two drivers, Ryan Yarrow and Richard Morris. Morris piloting the updated Spire won the opener at Snetterton, and a further two wins would follow at Silverstone and Anglesey along with three second places across the season. Yarrow was never far behind shadowing Morris when he could not beat him. Yarrow won four times, visiting the podium twice more finishing second on both occasions. The title battle went down the final round with Yarrow having a slim advantage. Yarrow won the first race as Morris initially in front pushed to hard and spun down the field to finish fourth denting his title hopes. Morris would give it his all in the final round as the conditions varied on a damp Snetterton track, but it wasn’t enough to beat Yarrow to the title. Richard Miles enjoyed a win at Snetterton and a third place in his sole outing of the year. Joe Lock having moved from Bikesports finished on the podium twice, with Mittell’s new driver Victor Neumann improving throughout the season with a total of four podiums and eight top ten finishes.

Sports1000 11
Ryan Yarrow, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Hot Hatch

Big grids throughout the Hot Hatch season brought some close racing. David Drinkwater was again the man to beat, in his Class C BMW Compact. Drinkwater won seven of the eight rounds that took place with only Dan Gibbs beat Drinkwater in the second Snetterton outing as he suffered damage at the start of the race. Class A was a forgone conclusion, Gary Prebble having no challengers to his title charge, only Steve Sawley came close at the opener Mallory but did not complete the season, meaning Prebble took the class A title, also helping him to become Autosport’s driver with most wins in 2020. Class B would be where a class title race would go down to the final race of the season. Phil Wright returned for a full season in his Honda Civic and won both opening rounds at Mallory. Former class C racer Ian Williamson debuted his new Honda Civic, the ex Rodren Vella car, at Silverstone and immediately showed pace winning both races ahead of Wright in the first and Tony Perfect in the second. Perfect continued his pace momentum and capitalized on an error from Williamson at the Snetterton opener to win both races as Wright fought hard to battle in the second only to spin off at Brundle, fighting his way back to third by the end. This set the finale up, with Perfect just in the lead from Wright. Sadly Williamson didn’t race in the finale leaving it a two car battle. Alistair Camp joined the grid for the finale and put his Civic near the front. It led to a three-car battle with Wright eventually getting ahead of both Perfect and Camp. The final race meant they were level on points. Perfect led the race with Wright closing, lap 5 saw the lead change, but on lap 8 Wright retired meaning Perfect was the class B champion finishing second overall to Drinkwater. 

Hot Hatch 59
Tony Perfect & Phil Wright, Photo Credit: SJN Photography


The F1000 Championship showcased big grids across the shortened season. The 2019 champion Matthew Booth proved consistency was key, recording a winless season, the former champion enjoyed three podium finishes with the best being a second place at Snetterton. Engine troubles hindered his progress but his consistent points scoring ensured a second place finish overall. Dan Clowes, a regular front runner and longstanding F1000 racer, took a treble victory in the opener at Silverstone which started the season off on the right foot. A further four podium finishers cemented his place as the 2020 champion. Only two other drivers won across the season Lee Morgan did the double at Oulton Park and won the final outing at Snetterton to finish his season fourth overall after mixed results. Rob Welham mirrored his Snetterton success from 2019 with two wins after missing much of the season due to engine problems in the lead up to Silverstone opener. A standout performance for rookie racer Jack Tomalin in his debut season, Tomalin finished on the podium an impressive three times and consistency enabled him to take third overall in the standings, he will certainly be one to watch for 2021. 

F1000 4
Rob Welham. Photo Credit: SJN Photography