750MC Season Review; Part Three

The third instalment of the 750 Motor Club review looks back on four more categories, Locost, Classic Stock Hatch, Sports Specials and MR2’s


The MR2 championship saw multiple champion Shaun Traynor switch from a class B car to a class C Roadster for 2020. A switch which would see the ever-competitive Traynor win twice at Silverstone with a further seven podium finishes to finish second overall and claim the class title. Aaron Cooke continued his impressive form of 2019 into 2020, winning the Snetterton opener from Paul Cook. The second trip to Snetterton in September saw Cooke win again, a further four wins on the bounce ensured the title was his at Donington by 18 points. Paul Cook secured consistent finishes to come third overall. The other winners were returning former champion Paul Hinson and Nick Williamson, who both finished fourth and fifth overall respectively. The grids continue to grow with the championship regularly seeing 30 plus cars on the grid which looks set to continue in 2021. 

MR2 23
Aaron Cooke, Photo credit SJN Photography

Sports Specials

There was a clear winner from Silverstone onwards, with Andy Hiley dominating in his Chronos HR1S winning six in a row to claim the title, he also had a win at the Snetterton opener. The only other driver to win was Paul Collingwood in the second Snetterton race which saw Hiley retire on lap three. Class B saw the wins shared between Steven Wells and Colin Benham at Snetterton. Wells winning the opener only to have a dramatic fire in race two which caused substantial damage to the car, with Wells leg briefly on fire also. The team turned the car around for the next meeting at Silverstone but issues meant two non starts. Benham took advantage winning once at Silverstone and once at the second Snetterton outing with Jonathan Curry also victorious at Silverstone. Wells made a winning comeback in race two at Snetterton and would go on to win the final two at Oulton Park. Benham took the class title and finished second overall. Stewart Mutch was one of the few class C cars winning all the races, his stand out performance came at a soaking wet Oulton Park where he finished third overall in race one and second in race two just over one second behind the 2020 champion Hiley. 

Specials 41
Steven Wells, Photo Credit SJN Photography


The hotly contested Locost championship provided slip streaming action from the get-go. The championship still managed to fit in eleven races in the shortened season, with the title battle going down to the final race of the season. The grid did not seem to be majorly affected by the new Ma7da series with 43 competitors taking part across the season. There was a surprise winner in the opener after Craig Land spun out of a six-car battle for the lead and it was Geoff Peek who crossed the line first ahead of Martin West in his newly built car. 2019 champion Tom Gadd took his sole podium visit of the season here. The title became a two-horse race with Murray Shepherd and Craig Land battling it out front. Land won twice to Shepherd’s six, most notably Shepherd took a dominant win at Oulton Park in soaking wet conditions winning by more than 22 seconds. The consistency of Land with five second places meant the title went down to the final race, ultimately Shepherd came out of top shadowing Land in the final race. Peek enjoyed his best season of his career finishing third overall with a further three podium finishes. Six further drivers featured on the podium with Simon Walker – Hansell and Louis Wall having a win apiece, they were joined by Daniel Garrett, Andrew Tait, Karl Ruijsenaars and George Grice. 

Locost 68
Murray Shepherd and Craig Land, Photo Credit: SJN Photography


The 2020 season saw the return of a full season for Pip Hammond in his Vauxhall Nova. Four drivers would win across the eight races. Hammond taking the first win at Snetterton after a close battle was neutralized due to a lengthy safety car after Terry Roughton rolled at Murrays. Hammond beat Lee Scott and Andrew Thorpe. The trio would be joined by Ryan Morgan in the second race as they all battled for the lead. The final lap saw Morgan get a great run out of Murrays to win in what was only his second ever car race. Morgan would win at Anglesey and a further podium place would see him finish second overall. Jeff Humphries did the double at Brands Hatch both times ahead of Hammond, Hammond would win a further two times to win the title with defending champion Lee Scott winning the final outing. Stewart Place finished on the podium twice with Edward Cooper enjoying a second place at Mallory Park. 

CSH 47
Classic Stock Hatch grid, Photo Credit SJN Photography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *