Challenging Conditions At MSVR Snetterton Meeting

A challenging mix of conditions with heavy rain and strong winds for drivers to contend with at the MSVR Snetterton meeting

The Mini challenge racers saw the Cooper S class joining the Cooper class for the first time. It was Daniel Butcher-Lord who made the best start in the sodden conditions to win the Cooper S class ahead of Rob Austin and Sami Bowler. In the Coopers home favourite Lydia Walmsley enjoyed a strong outing, pushing eventual winner Dominic Wheatley all the way, she had to look in her mirrors also as third place man Josh Porter was only a second further back. Championship leader coming into Snetterton Ben Kasperczak found himself down in eleventh after a strong outing at Thurxton. Butcher-Lord doubled his winning tally with the top three in the Copper S class finishing in the same order. It couldn’t be any different for the Cooper’s with James Hillery winning ahead of Archie O’Brien and Harry Nunn. Race one winner Wheatley finished down in fifth with Kasperczak having a stronger race to sixth. 

Lydia Walmsley – Mini Challenge

The F3 Cup championship were out first with dry conditions greeting them for qualifying. Stefano Leaney dominated the session taking pole by over two seconds from Alex Fores. By race one the rain had descended, this didn’t stop Leaney winning by over eleven seconds from Stuart Wiltshire who in turn was eleven seconds ahead of Malcolm Scott. Fores redeemed himself in race two winning by just over half a second from Leaney with John Corbett in third.

Alex Fores leading Stefano Leaney

The longest race of the day the MSVR trackday championship saw a grid of 31 take to the track as the rain had eased to drizzle. The race was a tense battle upfront after forty five minutes and a pit stop the race was won by Mark and Matt Higginson on the last lap in their Honda Civic ahead of Alf Hyde (Clio) a further three seconds behind for the final podium spot was Ray Honeybone (Clio). The class winners in the race were the Higginson brothers, Nick White (Clio) in class C, Kevin Glover and Henry Wright (Fiesta) class D and Aaron Harding and David Slater (Honda Civic) in class G. 

Mark and Matt Higginson Trackday Championship

The MSVR Trackday Trophy featured a few of the drivers from the championship race. The win went the way of class D winners in the championship race, Harding and Slater as they came up from fourth on the grid in the forty five minute race. Poleman Jonathan Candler (Peugeot 306) dropped to third overall with Dan Abbitt (Peugeot 306) moving up to second. Class winners were Harding and Slater in class B, Abbitt won class C, Jamie Ward (Fiesta) in class D and Alan Lyne (Clio) winning class G. 

Joanthan Candler

Cliff Pellin in his Fiesta ST180 took victory in the first outing for the Toyo Tires Saloons and Production BMW championship. Pellin finished just over four seconds ahead of Alex Kite (Volkswagen Vento) with Nigel Innes (BMW) in third. Pellin couldn’t replicate the victory in race two after not starting the second outing. In the BMW’s it was John Lyne finishing in fifth overall a feat that he would repeat in race two but finishing fourth overall. The class winners for race one were Pellin in class A, Lyne in class B, Frank Rodber (BMW E90 325i), Mark Giglio (Clio) in class D, Jackson Goodrum (BMW E30 320i) in class F and Lewis Turner (Saxo) in class E. The second outing saw Kite go one better in the absence of Pellin with Innes in second and Marcos Burnett finishing third. The only different class victor was Kite in class A. 

The Elise Trophy providing plenty of overtakes and action, mainly coming from one driver, Danny Winstanley didn’t complete a single lap in qualifying, starting last he finished in second just over one and a half seconds behind eventual winner Matthias Radestock with Jon Packer third. Poleman Lamaster dropped down to fifth as the field began to spread out. Winstanley went one better in the second race dominating the field finishing nearly twenty four seconds ahead of the rest. With Craig Denman and race one winner Radestock rounding out the podium. 

Elise Trophy

All photos: Richard Styles