Damp Donington For 750MC Finals Weekend Day Two

The final day of the British Motorsport season was hosted by the 750 Motor Club in sodden conditions at Donington Park in mid-December.

Murray Shepherd narrowly beat Craig Land in the opening Locost race, after a failed last corner attempt to pass for Land. Land would go on to dominate race two but despite having to manage car gremlins Shepherd came home second, which was enough to wrap up the title. George Grice took a pair of third place finishes.

Locost 74
Murray Shepherd Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Ben Hancy controlled the opening MX5 Cup race from the front – chased home by team-mates Tom Smith and Ben Short. Steve Foden dropped to fourth after an attempt to take second place away from Smith on lap three but went off at the chicane. Foden dominated the second race, featuring a partially reverse grid. Smith passed Hancy for second but third was enough for Hancy to take the title by just a point over Foden.

MX5 75
Ben Hancy and Steve Foden Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Aaron Cooke stormed to a pair of MR2 Championship victories to become champion – clearly much faster than the rest in wet conditions. Shaun Traynor and Paul Cook completed the podium in both races. Cook led briefly early in race two but lost both positions at Coppice. Cooke (B) and Traynor (C) were also class winners – while Neil Stratton won twice in class A.

MR2 23
Aaron Cooke, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

An impressive 36-car entry started the final round of the Club Enduro Champion, of which 33 took the checkered flag in an incident-packed soaked race – which featured three Safety Cars. Rob Baker and Carl Swift took their third victory of the season in their Seat Leon, which meant they took the class A and overall title. Anthony Rodgers finished 19 seconds behind at the end in Mark Jones’ Supercopa with Darren Ball’s Porsche Cayman chasing at the end. Andy Schulz (BMW M3) led during the middle of the race, but Matthew Hampton crashed out towards the end.

Chris Coomer debuted his Renault Clio Cup car perfectly with an easy victory while others faltered in class B. Mark Grice led early in William Beech’s Volkswagen Golf but went off scoping mud into the radiator and overheating the car. Luke Handley ran second but his Honda Civic ended up needing retrieving from the McLeans gravel. He re-joined the track and did enough to take the class championship. Chris Freeman and Jonny Munday’s Civic eventually took second, ahead of Nick Starkey / Matt Maxted (BMW M3). Ben Short went well early on in Ben Hancy’s turbocharged Mazda MX5 – they finished fourth.

Enduro 67
Rob Baker and Carl Swift, Photo Credit: SJN Photography

Despite three penalties, Jonathan Packer won class C, where he shone in a Honda Civic – setting a lap time just half a second off the overall best. He still finished eighth overall. Brian Chandler did most of the race in Clive Chisnall’s MX5 but Chisnall was unable to hold off the charging Packer in the final stages. James and Darren Kell took third after an early pit stop – that was enough to wrap up the class title in their Mazda MX5. Helped by a slipping clutch in Andy Baylie’s Civic, which dropped him back after running second.