GT Cup Returns At Sunny Snetterton

The GT Cup headlined the racing action from Snetterton with 7 championships racing including the inaugural Porsche Sprint Challenge GB.
107851363 4091975884205857 2344311460688193273 o
Team WPI – Photo Credit Ian Cutting

Four races took place for the GT Cup and it was the WPI team of Michael Igoe and Dennis Lind putting their Lamborgini Hurracan in top spot with a margin of over five seconds to the Ferrari 488 of John Dhillon and Arron Scott. 

The dominance of the Lamborgini pairing shone through with them taking all four victories of the weekend convincingly, all by over a minute ahead of the second place team. The Ferrari pairing would finish second in three of the races, being beaten by the Porsche 911 GT3 R of Will Goff by three seconds. 

108824995 4096662110403901 8729285834672081023 o
Team Hard – Photo Credit Ian Cutting

The Ferrari duo did win their class in all four races ahead of Simon Green Motorsports Lucky Khera and Lee Frost. Team Hard took a brace of victories in their respective classes. Their 2020 scholarship winner Ollie Brown enjoyed two victories after his debut the week before in the VW Golf. Ben Clayden and Sam Randon came fourth overall in the first outing taking class victory in the Porsche 991 GT3, they would repeat that effort twice more. 

108794312 4096662513737194 1040915188630142757 o
Photo Credit – Ian Cutting

The F3 cup fielded 8 drivers for its first races of the year. Alex Fores put his Dallara on pole alongside Stefano Leaney. Fores led from lights out to the flag, he was being chased down by Leaney who stalled at the start. Leaney made up a 12 second gap and went for a bold move around the outside of Fores at Brundle only to spin on the marbles and out of contention. Leaney put things right in race two winning by just under three seconds from Fores, the pair look like they will have a close battle all year. 

70140611 3011484942254962 2971022744877006848 o
Stefano Leaney – Photo Credit Ian Cutting

The Porsche Sprint Challenge new to 2020 features Pro and Am categories. In the Pro category 2018 Clio Cup runner up James Dorlin won both rounds, in a car he only took delivery of on the Wednesday and with no testing. Archie Hamilton enjoyed his return to racing with two thirds. Ambrogio Perfetti in his very colour liveried Porsche enjoyed mixing it with the Pros on his way to two wins in the series. 

Michael Gibbins was a double winner in the Sports 2000 races in his MCR S2000. He was pushed hard in the first race finishing just ahead of Tom Stoten. Stoten would be beaten to second in the last race by Joshua Law in his MC2 S2 finishing three seconds behind leader Gibbins. 

A dominate display by Craig Denman in the MSVR Elsie Trophy has he won by 22 seconds ahead of David Alexander and Mark Richardson. Denman lapping over half a second quicker then the rest of the field. 

Another Porsche race taking place featured Caymans, 997s and Boxster S. James Casey beat pole man Simon Clark to win in race one with Mark McAleer in his 997 rounding out the podium. McAleer went two steps better in race two winning after starting fourth, Clark once again getting beating with Peter Morris third, race one winner Caley finishing down in fourth. 

A huge grid of Caterhams for the 7 race series featured 47 cars. Phil Jenkins converted pole to win race one by seven tenths, breaking the tow the top two finished ten seconds ahead of the pack. Jenkins would go on to win races two and three by 10 seconds from Andrew Barnes in race two and Alexander Koeberle in the final race. 

The heritage Formula Ford series which featured FF 1600 Van Diemans and Cossle 30f, held a single race with Ross Martin in his Van Dieman winning from Alex Walker in the open class, Tom Brown was the class winner and fourth overall in his Van Dieman RF91. 

Full Results can be found here: