History Is Made In The F3 Cup Championship

The Championship goes down to the wire in the final race of the year at Snetterton

Reigning champion Cian Carey was aiming to wrap up the 2019 title, it wouldn’t be easy with his championship rival Shane Kelly 58 points behind with a maximum of 95 available.

Race one took place on the Saturday, it was Darragh Daly on pole with Stefano Leaney in second. Crucially Kelly was in front of Carey after he only managed 5th. It was Kelly who made a great start to leapfrog into the lead ahead of Daly and Leaney. After the first lap it was Daly who edged out in front and never looked back on his way to victory from a fast closing Leaney in second. Carey made up several places including overtaking Kelly to finish in third one spot ahead of his rival.

Photo Credit: Ian Cutting

Race two the first of which to take place on Sunday, saw Stefano Leaney on pole from race one winner Daly. As the race got underway it was Leaney who remained out front. A lead he would never give up giving him a lights to flag victory. Race one winner Daly held onto second with Carey finishing third once again, to strengthen his grip on retaining the title. Crucially Shane Kelly failed to finish with one lap to go.

Photo Credit: Ian Cutting

Race three and it was Carey’s title to lose. Leaney again on pole led away with Carey getting a great start, moving ahead of Daly into second. Leaney was pushed all the way by Carey with very little in-between then. The winning margin was 0.986 seconds, meaning Carey did enough to take the title. This was history in the making as Carey is the first driver to win back to back F3 Cup titles.

Photo Credit: Ian Cutting

Full Race results can be found here

Words: Sam Nudd

Photos: Ian Cutting