Mallory Park Returns To Racing With 750MC

Mallory Park hosted the 750 Motor Club for a one day meeting featuring Hot Hatch to the oldest championship in the UK. 

The Historic 750 Formula Series took to the track first with a near-full grid of 23 cars. Martin Depper in his Centaur MK14 secured pole position for the opener. Depper led the opener to the flag after a close battle with Trefor Slatter and Chris Wilson. Unfortunately, Depper was disqualified due to overtaking under yellow flags, handing victory to Slatter. Chrisitan Pederson in his Austin 7 rounding out the podium. Slatter started race two on pole position he would go on to set fastest lap Depper though made a great start to move into second on lap 3. The pair would battle swapping positions until Slatter was forced into retirement on lap 12. Chris Wilson was not far behind the top two, in his 500cc F3 machine. Once Slatter retired Wilson put the pressure on Depper closing on the final lap, but it was not enough as Depper crossed the line 0.02 seconds ahead. 

116214372 205487694234327 5033624696907809273 n
Photo Credit: 750MC

The Hot Hatch Championship started their season with a full capacity grid. With regular winner Ben Rushworth not competing this year it opened Class A up. It was long standing front runners Gary Prebble and Steve Sawley leading the way. Prebble doing the double, Sawley kept up with Prebble even claiming the outright lap record in race one but traffic would but a stop to his challenge. Sawley lost time in race two after running wide and becoming airborne briefly over the grass at the Esses. New to the championship, sometime Pickup Truck racer Simon Ward raced his Vauxhall Astra GTE to two third places finishing fourth overall. Class B saw Phil Wright carry on his 2019 form as he took on the full championship for 2020. Qualifying second for race one as Tony Perfect enjoyed a debut pole, Wright got the jump and moved ahead of Ward setting lap record pace finishing seven seconds ahead of Perfect with another newcomer Cameron Elder rounding out the Class B podium. Race two the top two Class B’s remained the same but this time Perfect pushed closer to Wright’s lap times coming within 0.03 seconds of lap record pace. Third place saw serial podium finisher Callum Houchen return after dramas in qualifying causing damage to the front of his Civic, with that repaired he was rewarded with third. Reigning overall and Class C champion David Drinkwater carried on where he left off with double victory, he was pushed all the way by Dan Gibbs in his Mk2 Golf in race one with Paul Warren enjoying his first podium. Race two and Drinkwater pulled a bigger gap over Gibbs with William Hornsey finishing third after a non-finish in race one. 

116198677 1235881686764058 1542490984858427423 n
Gary Prebble – Photo Credit: 750MC

Regular front runner Peter Bove won both 750 Formula races in his Darvi 88 P. He finished ahead of the returning Dave Hodkin in both with back-to-back champion Mark Glover third running 25 seconds behind Bove in both races. There were plenty of other former champions racing with Hodkin, Glover, Chris Gough and Bob Simpson all having one the title in the past. Class B saw Raymond Barley in his Racekits Falcon finish just nine tenths ahead of Steve Boother who in turn finished eight tenths ahead of Richard Jenkins. Race two saw Boother go one step higher on the podium with victory as Barley and Jenkins retired on lap 2 and 7 respectively. 

750F 58 2
Peter Bove Donington 2019 – Photo Credit: SJN Photography

The Caterham Graduates joined the 750MC for a guest round with a triple header. It was a treble victory for Henry Senior winning by over four seconds in each outing. Behind, the action happened throughout the large grid. Race one saw second to fourth separated by one second at the flag, as Adam Bettinson and Gareth Cordey finished second and third. Race two and Bettinson and Cordey swapped places on the podium with Cordey setting the fastest lap along the way. Curry had another second-place finish in the final race, but joining him on the podium this time was Andrew Whitton as Cordey finished down in seventh.

img 6388
Photo Credit: Adam Lines