Scott Malvern and Nick Jones take their maiden GT3 win

Team Parker Racing bounce back and claim a win in the capable hands of GT4 graduates Scott Malvern and Nick Jones.
The pairing graduated to GT3 this year and it’s taken them only 4 Races to take their maiden GT3 win in the championship, the series now see’s 4 different winners from the first 4 races of the championship.

Scott Malvern committed to slicks at the start and the team made the right choice. The Bentley lept off the one and out dragged the pole sitting #36 Mclaren from Balfe Motorsports. Malvern was ahead into Redgate but on the outside line, he made the line work and got the drag out of the corner and was the clear leader as he headed the field into the crater curves.

Phil Keen in the #72 Barwell Lamborghini and the #18 WPI motorsport Lamborghini in the hands of Andrea Caldarelli also started on slick tyres, taking that risk whilst other went for a much more conservative choice of wets on a still drying circuit.

Credit: Mike Widdowson/MJW Media

Slicks seemed good until a few laps as the wet runners seemed to have much more grip. Osbourne onboard the Balfe Motorsport Mclaren started on pole but soon slipped down to 5th as others came by. Jack Mitchell in the #10 2 Seas Motorsport Mclaren on wets soon jumped up the field from 7th to 2nd by the old hairpin and continued to chase down the Bentley and even took the lead onto lap 2.

The track was good for wets but didn’t take long before the track dried too much and the slicks came back to life, Malvern soon took back the lead and Osbourne even gained pace once again and found himself back up into second position as the wet runners found their tyres over heating and losing grip fast apart from one.

Quickest of the wet runners was the #8 Team Abba commercials Mercedes with Sam Neary on board. The 18 year old is in his first full season racing with his father, he was soon on the pace of the pro’s and even quicker than some of them running the same tyres as himself.

Back out front the Bentley and Mclaren lead the field and pulled away heading into the pitstop window. The 2 cars pitted on the same lap and left it to be decided by the pit crews for the cars, a battle that was won by the Team Parker Racing squad. Nick Jones now inserted into the Bentley found him self leading and also pulling a gap over the Balfe Motorsport Mclaren now with Stewart Proctor onboard.

Proctor was falling back and even slipped back into the grasps of Adam Balon, now behind the wheel of the #72 Barwell Lamborghini. Balon capitalised on a mistake made by proctor going through coppice and soon powered past down the back straight into the Esses.

As Proctor slipped back further, Michael Igoe now found himself in 4th position onboard the WPI Motorsport Lamborghini and gaining quick on the Balfe Mclaren. Igoe was hunting down Proctor but threw away his chance as he lost the carat the Esses and lost 2 positions on track too.

Credit: Mike Widdowson/ MJW Media

In GT4, the result was dominated by two cars who started from the pitlane, as the winning #57 HHC Motorsport McLaren of Gus Bowers and birthday boy Chris Wesemael made a very change to slicks on the formation lap.

Despite having to start from the pitlane, their decision allowed them to carve through the field and eventually hunt down fellow pitlane starters #21 Balfe Motorsport McLaren of Euan Hankey/Mia Flewitt and take victory. Sam Smelt in the Speedworks Toyota grabbed the lead from #58 HHC Motorsport McLaren of Jordan Collard at the start and quickly built up a gap but he was soon hauled in by a rapid Hankey.

Hankey had started from the pitlane after a late switch to slicks and made his grip advantage made him the quickest car on track, charging past the entire field to take the lead. Once in the lead Hankey disappeared into the distance at a rate of 5 seconds a lap as Smelt was soon lost second to Bowers who had made slower progress but no less rapid pace in the #57 McLaren.

After his pitstop Hankey handed Am co-driver Flewitt, a half a minute lead to defend to the flag. The #21 McLaren is the only Pro-Am entry in the field and Flewitt soon saw Wesemael eat into her massive lead of up to four seconds a lap. With seven minutes grabbed the lead at the Melbourne hairpin to give him a very welcome birthday present.

Patrik Matthiesen eventually finished third in the #58 car as McLaren occupied all three podium places. James Kell brought the #23 Toyota home in fourth ahead of Jamie Caroline/Daniel Vaughan in the first of the TF Sport Aston Martins in fifth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *