750 Motor Club Season Finale Held At Sunny Silverstone

Autumnal sunshine greeted the 5 categories having a rare outing on the Silverstone GP track. 

First out; a combined grid of Hot Hatch and Classic Stock Hatch. With over 50 cars taking to the track the Classic Stock Hatch started 20 seconds after the Hot Hatch race. With the championships already decided in Hot Hatch, it was a straight fight for the win. Ben Rushworth won by 10 seconds ahead of the returning Steve Sawley and Ryan Steel. Class B saw Phil Wright’s Snetterton form continue and newly crowned Class C and overall champion David Drinkwater, carried on his winning run, straight off the back of the Birkett relay handicap win. 

Rushworth and Sawley battled once again in race two, this only lasted one lap as they had a coming together at Copse, Sawley retired while Rushworth limped back to the pits. Ryan Steel claimed his first victory with Wright second overall in his class B Civic, Drinkwater once again winning class C. 

Classic Stock saw championship rivals Matt Rozier and Lee Scott running in first and second. The front four caught the tail end of the Hot Hatch causing them to bunch up. The last lap saw Stewart Place overtake Scott for the lead to win with Scott crucially finishing ahead of Rozier wrapping up the championship with a race to spare. Andrew Thorpe won the second encounter with Rozier and Edward Cooper rounding the podium off. 

Michael Pensavalle and Mike Cutt took a win apiece in the BMW Car Club Racing Championship. Jim Benson and Matt Page continued their winning form in their respective classes. The M2 class saw Graham Crowhurst win and therefore increase his lead going into the final race. 

The sun was low in the sky for race two and saw Mike Cutt won closely followed by race one winner Pensavalle. Paul Cook took the M2 class win, this didn’t stop Crowhurst from winning the class title. Darren Ball did enough to take the class 6 championship with Page winning the Cup class championship and the overall title with a consistent season. 

Roadsports saw Kevin Dengate victorious in his M3 ahead of Warren Allen’s Porsche. Early class B leader Ben Leach suffered a misfire and had to retire 5 laps in, class B went the way of Peter Erceg, Nathalie McGloin enjoyed a debut race finishing second with her co-driver Andrew Bayliss. Jamie McHugh finished seventh overall and first in class C. Class D saw a close battle between Richard Baxter and Tony and Jon Hobbs, with Baxter coming out on top. 

The Tegiwa Club Enduro boasted a 43-car grid for their season finale. Class B and C championships had already been won by Steve Cheetham and Imran Khan / Andrew Lightstead respectively but Class A and the overall were still up for grabs. 

It was the Carl Swift and Rob Baker pairing who were victorious but were pushed towards the end by the Lotus of Joe Taylor. Taylor fought all the way against the mighty M4 of championship rivals Luke Sedzikowski and David Whitmore. He chased them down and passed them a few laps before the end to wrap up the class A title. 

Steve Cheetham won the class B battle and in doing so wrapped up the overall championship for 2019. Pip Hammond and Gavin Johnson fought back to second after a great stint with Hammond behind the wheel. Class C champions Lightstead and Khan did all they could to try to take the overall title by winning class c missing out by just a couple of points. A fantastic battle for the final podium places in class c saw Ben Hyland and Luca Hirst sneak past the pairing of Darren and James Kell by 0.02 seconds. 

Full race results can be seen here

Live stream can be watched here:

Words & Photos: Sam Nudd